Grocery Shopping = Cooking

As is the case with most of my great ideas, I rushed in with reckless abandon–failing to think the whole concept through from beginning to end. So, while the idea of saving hundreds of dollars per month on my grocery budget seemed appealing to me, I guess you could say that what I failed to realize is that all of these grocery items would then need to be assembled into meals that could be consumed by my family to provide nutritious and well-balanced meals. And, since you know how cooking goes around here … I find myself in a bit of a predicament.

That’s when I turn to my muse, Hannah Harto, of My Drunk Kitchen. Watching a few of her episodes inspires me to pour a glass of wine try my hand at cooking again. Lo and behold … it turns out that I actually can cook. Here’s what happens when I have fresh ingredients in my house …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

TA-DA! Homemade Pizza. I can do this.

About theminimalchallenge

The attempt to minimize the material possessions in my life will, in fact, be a maximum challenge. This is the story of an average American consumer-rich family of four that is inundated with "stuff." The older our children get, the more "stuff" they acquire (as exemplified by their parents--their role models). So, we've decided to minimize our material possessions in an attempt to remove the chaos and clutter from our lives. We've decided to raise children that value experiences, know how to build relationships, and make life-long memories ... regardless of the "stuff" that surrounds them. This is the story of our journey.
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

