Busy Summer

Who knew my summer was going to fill up so fast? I’m not complaining. We have had more family adventures this year than we’ve had in years. We’ve spent more time together this summer, and I can honestly say I’ve spent more time at the pool in a bathing suit than I have since I was a teenager (which is more years ago than I care to count). Good times all around.

Even if it means I’ve strayed a bit from The Minimal Challenge. That’s not to say we’ve spent much money on material goods. Quite the contrary … except for the occasional sweatshirt on a cool summer night, I’m not sure we’ve actually acquired anything but memories this summer.

In fact, as I venture into the closet to assess the school clothes situation, I’m pleased to find that we have really only worn the same small handful of outfits all summer. We’ve minimized shopping, minimized laundry, and minimized my children’s perception of “need” for “stuff”. Victories all around.

Unfortunately … none of the clothes they ended the school year with a couple of months ago are going to fit when they return to the playground this fall. Apparently, children–like plants–sprout when they see the sun. So, my task for this month is to revisit the closet. Paring down outgrown clothes, minimizing the items in my closet that have not been worn–or those which have been replaced by a soft new sweatshirt–and maybe I’ll even weed out some of my husband’s twelve black golf vests that look exactly the same to me.

But not today. The sun is shining and I have kids that want to play. Duty calls.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

