Who’s with me?

Ladies and gentlemen–I stand corrected.

Yesterday, when I ended my post with “this is the story of how one American family …” what I *meant* to say was “this is the story of how my children and I …” will minimize our material possessions … You see, it seems that my always-supportive, and team-spirited husband has a sudden case of amnesia. The thing is … he seems to have forgotten that it was HE who shared the “100 Thing Challenge” with ME. He found the article, read it during his commute, and sent it to me (while surfing the Web for iPad specs to add to our collection of four laptops, no doubt). He even went so far as to  suggest that it would be a good idea for our family. But now that I am on-board, and fully committed to this journey, he seems to be faltering. Were you just testing me, honey? Wondering if I would laugh at the absurd thought of minimizing our household to a mere 100 possessions each? Well, I do laugh … I laugh at your cowardice in the face of this challenge. I laugh at the depths of your (two) closet(s), which I will now have to mercilessly expose to the universe. And I laugh at the hip-hop gangster sports jerseys you haven’t worn since college, because somewhere between your late teens and now, you came face-to-face with the reality that you are, in fact, a full-blooded Irish Leprechaun …

Do not be alarmed my friends, this is not the first time the Irish and the English have failed to see eye-to-eye in our household.

Instead, my love, this is my final peace-offering. Before I officially throw the gauntlet and go all Katie Couric on your closet(s) … let me encourage you to look to your humanitarian leader, Bono, and consider this challenge an opportunity to win our family’s Nobel Peace Prize. (And if you’re lucky, you might even be granted honorary knighthood.)

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Who’s with me?

  1. Amy Buchanan says:

    I am so with you on this thing!
    Just last week I shared 6 trash bags of my treasures with the Salvation Army drop box! The feeling is absolutely amazing!

    Reading your blog has motivated me to start working on another area in my house… the dining/computer/sewing/craft room! I’m going in… if you don’t hear from me in a few days, call 911! LOL

    Keep up the great posts, I’m enjoying reading your blog. I don’t feel so alone in the world! 🙂

    **Amy**

  2. Pingback: Nooks and Crannies | The Minimal Challenge

  3. Pingback: Progress Report | The Minimal Challenge

  4. Pingback: Revisiting the Toaster | The Minimal Challenge

  5. Pingback: The five Ws and the H … « travellearners

  6. Pingback: Royal Moments | The Minimal Challenge

  7. Pingback: Misadventures in Couponing | The Minimal Challenge

Leave a Reply

