We can do it!

Gandhi once said “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.”

So, at the risk of getting all deep or profound on you here, I just want to thank those of you who are offering encouragement and inspiration to me on this journey, and I sincerely hope that I am doing the same in your life. 

As you know, I was inspired by Dave Bruno’s 100 Thing Challenge in the act of minimizing my “stuff.” In return, I have one friend who informed me that she’s started an “items to donate” box in my honor, and places at least one item in it per day. Everyone’s approach is different, but the sentiment is the same–being mindful of the “stuff” that clutters, rather than enhances, our lives. Special thanks to my BFF who felt the need to mention her “unmentionables” as she detailed the contents of her lingerie drawer to me. To be fair, she did preface the statement with “FYI … or TMI … take your pick.” I was fairly warned.

But, I’ve also been looking for a creative outlet to test and refine my writing skills. So, this has been a fun (and somewhat educational) forum to do so. I am honored that so many of you are reading on a daily basis. And, I am proud to introduce you to one of my dear friends, and former roommates, who has been inspired to start a blog of her own. Hers in not about the process of minimization, but the adventures of a Wandering Fool. I love it, and I think you might also. (And for the record, this is the same friend who forced me to organize my closet by color so that she could quickly find what she was looking for … in MY closet … and then, when my closet organization tactics failed to meet her standards for excellence, she stole every article of clothing from MY closet, locked them in HER bedroom, and left a ransom note. Good times.)

So, cheers to all of us (that includes you) who are finding a creative way to change our thinking about the material goods we need to purchase, keep, or dispose of properly. Or just finding a creative way to express ourselves and create experiences in our lives. And thank you for taking the time to read through my ramblings as I change my family’s attitude toward American Consumerism and all of its intriguing side effects.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We can do it!

  1. Hahahah!! When you mentioned the OB1 car incident (disaster) the other day, I thought of our old suite and all the funny times. Remember when you and Dottie hid my M&M machine in the shower?? Ha!! I miss all the funny pranks. And, thank you so much for mentioning me in your blog! Geez, I better get crackin’!

  2. Pingback: Progress Report | The Minimal Challenge

Leave a Reply

