Don’t try this at Home

I learned some valuable lessons about myself today. I will present them to you here in the order in which I cursed them aloud in my kitchen this evening:

In case you’re wondering, I thought I’d try my hand at this “once-a-month cooking” catastrophe. A few hours ago, I set out to prepare a month’s worth of Lasagna, Shredded-Chicken Enchiladas, BBQ-Marinated Pulled Pork, Taco Meat, Twice-Baked Potatoes, and Chocolate-Chip Banana Bread. About half way through my slavery, my son wandered into the kitchen to ask what I was doing. Fair question. He’s only five. He’s never seen this before.

So, on the verge of breaking a sweat as I enjoyed an unplanned facial from the steam of the boiling water, I was excited to show him all of the dishes I was preparing. To which, he replied, “well, if the Lasagna tastes like Ravioli then I’ll eat it, but I don’t like potatoes or bananas, and I really don’t like Enchiladas.”

I’m telling you, a force greater than myself intervened to spare that sweet little boy’s life. I took a deep breath, smiled, and told him there’s always Peanut Butter and Jelly. In that moment, I truly believe that I achieved Sainthood. From here on out, you can refer to me as the Patron Saint of Moms who Drink while Cooking.

Thirty minutes later, when my husband called to ask if we have any Wheaties for dinner, I may have shed a tear. I’ll be honest. I tried to do the right thing … preparing all of this homemade organic food for my family. I mean, it’s no breakfast of champions … but … it was made with love, right?

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Don’t try this at Home

  1. Pingback: Cat or Carcinogens? That is the Question. | The Minimal Challenge

  2. Pingback: Strategic Cleaning | The Minimal Challenge

  3. Pingback: Progress Report | The Minimal Challenge

  4. Pingback: An entire month of meals? | The Minimal Challenge

  5. Pingback: Take-out vs. Homemade Meals | The Minimal Challenge

  6. Pingback: Purchase Justification | The Minimal Challenge

  7. Pingback: Some Assembly Required | The Minimal Challenge

  8. Pingback: Minimizing my Monthly Budget | The Minimal Challenge

  9. Pingback: Grocery Shopping = Cooking | The Minimal Challenge

Leave a Reply

