Progress Report

One month ago today, my husband sent me the “100 Thing Challenge” article and suggested it would be a good idea for our family. The very next day, this blog was born.

In the last month, we have minimized a lot of “stuff”. (I use the term “we” loosely.) Our minimized material possessions include:

But, if you’ve been following the blog, you also know that this Minimal Challenge is not *just* about minimizing our material possessions, but about changing our attitudes toward waste and consumerism, and decluttering our mental spaces as well. To that end, we’ve made more progress by:

In the process, we’ve used our free time and mental space to go on more family adventures:

And, perhaps the greatest reward thus far, has been the opportunity to share a broader world-view with our children in the form of understanding and empathizing with the hardships faced by our friends, family, and neighbors during this difficult economic time.

Meanwhile, with the time we’ve regained by not watching TV every night, my husband has decided to pursue his Ph.D., and I’ve rediscovered my love for writing. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention how we’ve minimized our coffee addiction again … and again.

I guess you could say that we’ve had a fairly successful month. Or at least a successful start on our journey of minimizing our “stuff” so we can focus on the adventures and life-lessons that matter.

Thank you for joining us on this journey … tune in tomorrow when I’ll attempt to list my current possessions and my goals for reaching the elusive 100.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Progress Report

  1. Pingback: Aspirations | The Minimal Challenge

Leave a Reply

