An entire month of meals?

Fail.

Here we are barely half way through the month, and already the month-load of meals I feverishly prepared just before Labor Day has been depleted. Am I ready to try my hand at Phase II?

It has been nice to have food on hand and not have to run to the grocery store everyday. (Or pick-up take-out, if we’re telling the truth.) But the four hours I spent in the kitchen that day was a LOT of work! And if I have to eat another helping of lasagna or chicken enchiladas, I may never eat again.

So, I’ve been doing some research for new recipes. I picked up a Paula Deen magazine at the store the other day. Filled with fantastic fall fare. I’m salivating over new ways to prepare squash and soups, and Football Sunday Chile. (Again, I don’t know why I insist on using the word “new” when I don’t have an “old” way of preparing said dishes.) But as I’m looking at these meals, I’m thinking to myself … if I ate like this everyday, I’d have a whole new challenge to minimize my waistline. I’ll spare you those details. You definitely *do not* want to see those pictures.

But the Buttery Apple Pear Pie on the cover might have to take a turn around our table. I think I know just the apple tree where we can forage for our fruit. Picking your own apples … that burns calories, right?

If you need me, I’ll be in the kitchen … (again) …

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An entire month of meals?

  1. Kymy says:

    Check out http://www.food.com/, just put OAMC (short for once a month cooking) in the search box and you will find a TON of free recipes with ratings & reviews. Also if you plan on doing a ton at once make it a social thing! Invite some friends over & open a bottle of wine, makes it MUCH more fun.

    I normally stick to doing it once every 2 weeks instead, but you end up spending almost as much time as doing it once a month. Good luck!

  2. I think you’re on to something with that bottle of wine idea …

  3. Kimi says:

    My month of meals is only with shopping, because preparing a month of meals would kill me. I menu a month of meals, shop for a month of meals, and save my prep work for two hours on Sunday afternoon. Chopping, washing, sorting, ONE weeks worth of food. It is totally managable on my time line. When I walk in at 5 pm, I pull out “Mondays” tupperware, fire up the pan, and within 15-20 mins, I’m eating. As a fellow working mom, I appreciate your want to save time while still avoid eating from a box.

Leave a Reply

