Oh Canada

Those of you who are loyal readers might note that I did not post a blog yesterday. That is because I spent my morning having Sunday breakfast with my in-laws and discussing the political landscape that our country is facing right now. Then I lost my appetite. After that, I had a *lot* to say … but, since my Momma taught me that if I don’t have anything nice to say, I shouldn’t say anything at all (and I abide by that wisdom about 75% of the time), I decided to spare you my political rantings. At the same time, I was calculating how difficult it would be to pack up my family and move to Canada.

So, I decided to sleep on it and wake up with a clear head to start a fresh week.

Only, when I logged in to my favorite news site this morning, I found more insanity in politics. I’ve promised you that I will keep this blog a political-free zone. So I’m not going to tell you how I actually feel about either political party. But I will say that I find the fact that our political leaders are engaging in social-media-mud-slinging via Twitter to be shameful. On both sides. These are the choices we have to elect to run our country? Really? Take off, eh!

Trying not to dwell on the craziness that is driving this country, I turned to other news … only to learn that our soldiers are allegedly killing innocent citizens for sport, rivers are flooding, and murder-suicides are running rampant. That’s when I had a brilliant idea … why not a news site that only brings us good news? Not because I’m in denial about the world in which I live … but because it’s Monday morning, and that’s difficult enough to stomach. So, I Googled “good news” and found that some brilliant entrepreneurs had already beaten me to it. And on that note, I’d like to share with you some good news sources:

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go shop for parkas and hockey masks to adorn my children this winter. I know this has nothing to do with minimizing material goods, but I’m on a parallel mission in my life to minimize insanity … more on that in a different blog.

Oh, and by the way … it kind of makes sense to celebrate Thanksgiving on the day we claim that Columbus discovered the Americas, does it not?

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Country. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh Canada

  1. Pingback: Unspeakable Tragedy | The Minimal Challenge

Leave a Reply

