Wasteful Haste

“Haste Makes Waste,” my attorney tells me. Every. Single. Time. I speak with him. As if it’s his god-given tag line or something. Perhaps it is. And perhaps he’s right … it would explain how I wasted a whole day clearing my calendar, waking up early, missing a ferry, and racing down the freeway to make it to the city just minutes before my luncheon was scheduled to start … on OCTOBER 28.

After that revelation, I treated myself to Starbucks. Because I believe in supporting my local economy. And I’m somewhat of a caffeine fiend. Especially when I’m stressed. Which accounts for a lot of my overall holistic health and well-being these days. Coffee. Chocolate. Wine. (Not always in that order.)

The funny thing about stress is that it’s such a silent condition. It’s hard to recognize it sneaking up on you until you’re so engulfed that you can’t find your way out. But, because I know myself so well, I have some clear stress indicators that blink and flash through my mind alerting me that something is wrong.

Specifically, when I find my laundry room to be a place of Zen. That is when I know my life is spinning out of control. Never before have I intentionally spent any time in that wretched place. Until yesterday. I found myself just standing in there. Breathing deeply. Wishing my entire house looked like that room. Because it is the only clean room in my entire house at the moment. I’d like to submit the following photos as evidence.

Looks like a laundry room, right? But a picture is worth a thousand words. Or, in this case, a thousand articles of clothing. Notice the floor. And the tops of the washer and dryer. And the counters. Who knew I had so much surface area in this room?

Please notice the absence of Mt. Laundry. Because contrary to popular belief, I am actually still on a mission to minimize. Last weekend, I moved mountains. Right here in this little room.

And if you’re wondering what’s stored in the cupboards, that’s where I keep all of the scrapbook supplies that I’ve already decided to minimize … as soon as I can find the time to go digital.

Meanwhile, inhale … exhale …

In case you’re wondering what’s going on over here on this side of the room, well, those cabinets are full of my children’s art supplies. Paints and glue and messy items conveniently located next to the sink.

There are a number of art supplies that could be minimized. But, I believe in fostering my kids’ creativity. So, while I’ve done some paring down in the art department … there’s still plenty of mess stored behind those doors. And, because I know we’re in for nine months of grey skies … I think it is worth my sanity to have some messy fun tucked away for a rainy day.

But in the meantime, we are doing our best to squeeze every last ounce of sunshine out of the changing seasons.

So, after finding myself lost in pure bliss yesterday, only to open my eyes and realize I was standing in my own personal hell, I decided it was time to get out of the house …

My kids and I headed to the beach for an afternoon of wave chasing, rock throwing, log climbing, fresh-air breathing, T-Rex wrestling relaxation.

OM ……………………………………

So, you can imagine my culture shock to find myself speeding down the freeway at the butt-crack of dawn this morning on my way to a charity luncheon when I would much rather be practicing my lotus position in this nirvana. This is when I dreamed up my mini-challenge within my Minimal Challenge. Since I have to get back on that freeway and head to that luncheon again a month from now, I’m going to use the next month to change another pattern of behavior. Instead of spiraling into the stress that life and “stuff” cause, I am going to make an effort to get outside in the fresh air and enjoy the natural beauty of this island on a daily basis. Every day for the next month, I’m going to take my kids and my dog somewhere fun to run off their energy and restore my soul.

Because, although I’ve had the kind of year that makes my attorney glad to have me as a client (and my bookkeeper … and my CPA … ), I’d rather have the type of month that makes my kids glad to have me as their Mom … and not that crazy woman who runs around here rushing for the ferry and finding her sanity in the laundry room.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wasteful Haste

  1. Pingback: Playdate + Wine = Happy Kids + Happy Moms | The Minimal Challenge

  2. Pingback: Aspirations | The Minimal Challenge

  3. Pingback: Calm, Cool, and Collected | The Minimal Challenge

Leave a Reply

