Argh …

“Peter, you’ve become a Pirate,” says Grammie Wendy in her proper British accent, when she learns that Peter has become a Mergers and Acquisitions Lawyer in Corporate America. If you’ve seen Hook, you know exactly what I’m talking about. If you haven’t, you should.

I think it goes without saying how spot-on this commentary is on the priorities of American adults who are over-worked and under-imaginative when it comes to spending time with their children. Especially when Peter encounters Hook for the first time and Hook holds him at sword-point, telling him to draw his weapon, so Peter pulls out his check book. Beautiful.

I’m too tired for much witty insight. I think the story speaks for itself. All I really have to say is … take some time to minimize work and maximize fun. Use your imagination and captivate your children. Or, promise your son that he can have a “Lost Boys” birthday party, complete with the colorful food fight, like I did. Then, perhaps you can join me in Never-Neverland. (Which I’m pretty sure is a euphemism for the mental institution. And if it wasn’t, it is now.)

All it takes is one happy thought … and we can fly!

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in Mini-Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Argh …

  1. Pingback: Winner, Winner, Winner | The Minimal Challenge

Leave a Reply

