Costumes. Check.

Victory is mine. Not only did I peruse the thrift stores yesterday to find all of the fixings for our family’s Halloween costumes for less than $17 (yes … seventeen dollars), but it’s still the first week of October. I don’t know what has come over me.

Back in the good ol’ days when we had an expendable income (and fewer mouths to feed), we used to shop for some pretty impressive Halloween Costumes. The day we went shopping was an event in and of itself. First we had to visit all of the costume shops, then go out to lunch to discuss how we might coordinate our costumes. Then return to find the perfect outfits and all of the accessories. One year, right after Pirates of the Caribbean came out, my husband found a Johnny Depp-style Pirate costume that was fairly believable. So naturally, I went as his Wench. Good times … and several hundred dollars later … we were ready for the actual Halloween Party.

As the years progressed, we’ve tried to find costumes that compliment a family of four. Last year, we were Alice in Wonderland, the White Rabbit, the Cheshire Cat, and the Ace of Spades. Alice in Wonderland, however, was not in the theatres, so the whole gaggle of costumes was more difficult to come by. That’s when I remembered I must have been a seamstress in a previous life and pulled out the sewing machine I was given several years earlier. After about a week of wrestling my way around threading the damn thing, I looked at the clock and realized we were approaching midnight on October 30. And if I didn’t turn into pumpkin soon, I was going to find myself with two very disappointed little children come trick-or-treat time. It was in that enchanted hour as the clock struck twelve on the Eve of All Hallow’s Eve, that I discovered the magic of crazy glue and felt. Are you kidding me? Who needs a sewing machine when this crazy glue is so readily available? That, my friends, is magic in its finest form.

So this year, armed with the confidence of homemade costumes from last year, and my new-found appreciation for the thrift store, I put on my minimalist hat and discovered everything I need to make Peter Pan, Tinkerbell, and Wendy Lady costumes. (And since we already have the Pirate from a few years back, all he needed was a Hook from the craft store. For a couple of dollars.)

And the best part is … we’ve still got three weeks to spare. Done and Done.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

