Step Five. Don’t you know the time has arrived?

Now it’s your turn. I’ve provided Step-by-Step guidance this week to help you navigate your path toward total minimization.

That’s all the advice I’m going to give you for now. I’m not a teacher. If you want to minimize, then stop shopping and start giving your “stuff” away. If you don’t want to minimize, then quit talking about it and looking for answers.

As I was clearing a path through my office the other day (through the “stuff” I’d minimized from the closet, but not yet found a place for … because I don’t have any shelves yet), I stumbled across a little book of quotes I’d given my husband when he started his first teaching job. I thought it would help him to inspire his students. Little did I know I’d be tripping over it so many years later and wondering who buys these silly little quote books. Anyhow, it’s called Success, One Day at a Time. I opened it to a page that says this:

You will never change your life until you change something you do daily. The secret of your success is found in your daily routine.
~John C. Maxwell

In that moment, several things occurred to me:

  1. My laundry is never going to get done, because I refuse to make it a part of my daily routine.
  2. If you want to see change happen, you have to make change happen.
  3. You’re not going to wake up one morning to a minimized house and be able to keep it that way by doing what you are doing now.

It reminds me of that story about the man who prayed every day that he would win the lottery, and God’s response was “buy a ticket”. You can’t win if you don’t play.

I also realized that minimizing my material possessions has become second nature to me not because I like to clean out the shoe closet on a regular basis, but because my perception of material needs has changed, so my behaviors and attitudes have changed accordingly.

The time has arrived, my friends. You can do this.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

