Minimalist. Like it or not.

You may remember the day I thought I might get a new phone. Only, I dragged myself to the mall to have the geniuses reformat my phone, downgrade the software, and erase all of my contacts instead. They told me my phone was fine and I should go home. That was the second time I had visited the store for the same purpose. Within days of my THREE YEAR warranty expiring. You might also remember when I pointed out that my husband has had SIX phones under the same warranty. So, my phone works about 50% of the time, which I really don’t mind so much … any reason to be less connected is generally fine with me.

The consumer in me would really like to upgrade my phone to the latest and greatest technology. I mean … have you seen what phones can do these days? But the minimalist in me is perfectly content with a less-than-perfectly functional phone. It gets me through the day. I can mostly send and receive emails when away from my desk. Sometimes I can hear the person on the other end of the phone when they call, and occasionally the GPS gets me to where I need to go. It can still take photos, though I can’t access any of them, because every time I press my photo icon, it brings up some kind of Map App instead. But, if I click on the camera and then on the photo library … I can access the photos that way. Learning technical workarounds. That’s what I’m good at. But really, I’d love a new phone.

So, you can imagine my sheer joy when I was playing at the beach with my kids and dog yesterday and while I was trying to stop my dog from running into the ocean, my phone slipped out of my pocket and landed in the waves. Completely submerged. In salt water. Fantastic, I think to myself.

Only, come to find out, I have the world’s only indestructible iPhone. I pick it up, shake it off, dry it out over night, and today it works perfectly. Even the speakers. Really? AND, the photo icon doesn’t take me to the Map App anymore … now it opens a new email message. I don’t make this stuff up.

I guess I should be grateful that I don’t have to go spend money on a new phone. And send another piece of electronic equipment to a land fill. Or increase my carbon footprint to go to the mall. Whatever.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Minimalist. Like it or not.

  1. Pingback: iPhone #7 | The Minimal Challenge

Leave a Reply

