Minimalist Paradise

Part of this blog is about updating you on my progress toward minimalism, and the life changes achieved along the journey. So, I just have to tell you that even though I have not actively minimized any of my material possessions in quite some time, there is a significant difference in the quality of my life without so much “stuff.”

I’ve said it before, but I need to say it again. After two weeks of burying my head in my work and barely coming up for air, I’m pleased to report that the laundry and the dishes only amount to one evening of mess to clean up, and not the two weeks of mess that has accumulated. That is because I don’t have two weeks of clothes anymore. I only have a few items. So I have to throw in a load of laundry often enough to stay clothed. (The alternative is not pretty. Fair warning.) Although, I will confess that I may have worn a pair of my husband’s underwear once this week. (Which, you have to admit is a better scenario¬†than if the reverse were true, AmIRight?) And, we only have four bowls in this entire house, so if I’m forcing my children to eat cereal for breakfast every morning, well … somehow, the bowls are getting cleaned often enough to serve their purpose. (Or my family has Salmonella, but so far, there are no symptoms to make that case.) If I teach my children nothing else, I will have exposed them to Darwinism at its finest … survival of the fittest, my loves.

I’m not here to comment on the cleanliness of my toilet bowels, but ultimately … nothing a little Clorox and pumice can’t cure. And so here we are … one evening of clean-up after two weeks of extreme chaos and sheer neglect in the domesticity department. I call that success.

Living in a Minimalist Paradise.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

