Dear Black Friday: Bah Humbug!

You have, no doubt, seen the ads starting already for the Black Friday shopping extravaganza brought to you by Corporate America and sponsored by Retail Greed, yes?

The ad that popped up on the side of my Facebook page today touts a 4 am shopping start time. Seriously? 4 am? I can honestly tell you that I don’t remember the last time I was awake at 4 am. Wait. That’s not entirely true. I do remember. I was sitting in an airport in Prague cursing Starbucks for its lackadaisical approach to World Domination and wondering how I was going to stay awake long enough to board the plane. But then, with the time change, it was really only 8 pm according to my biological clock, so that doesn’t really count. I can tell you what I was *not* doing though … shopping!

Hark! I just discovered the first good reason to live on this island. There’s no ferry service that could physically get me to the mainland in time to start shopping at 4 am. That’s kind of a double-edged sword though. Because, likewise, there was no ferry service to get me to the hospital should I have gone into labor at 4 am, either. But those days are behind me now, so we can officially start a “Pro” list for Pacific Northwest Island Life. No 4 am shopping experience. Check.

Here are my plans for the day after Thanksgiving. 4 am: Sleep. 8 am: Sleep. 10 am: Get up and make family breakfast while my husband runs out for coffee. (It’s a special occasion, OK?) Blast Christmas music to get everyone in the spirit with some holiday cheer. Drag out the Christmas Decorations (which are not on my list to minimize). Hang the garland. Heat up some left-over turkey and make big, delicious sandwiches with stuffing and cranberry sauce for our cozy lunch under the twinkling white lights adorning the garland. Snuggle on the couch with my children–still in our pajamas and big fuzzy slippers–and read Christmas stories. Or look through the scrapbook of Christmas’ past. Aah, cozy, childhood bliss.

Who wants to be fighting traffic and sale-crazed shoppers and bustling around like mad looking for the best “deal” to spend all of  your hard-earned cash in a single outing?

Bah Humbug, I say. To Black Friday.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge, The Economy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

