The Talk

In case you are one of the millions of Americans who, against my better advice, are still planning to shop the Black Friday “deals” this year, do yourself a favor and educate yourself first.

Check out Black Friday 2010’s Dirty Little Secrets on CNN.

Although I hate to be the one to break this to you–because I don’t think it’s really my place–I suppose it is about time we had “the talk.” So, I’m going to make this quick and painless for both of us …

Retailers only want ONE THING from you. I know, it’s confusing, because they promise to make you happy and comfortable and tell you how pretty you look in their goods. They shower you with free samples and delicious smells. They tell you how beautiful your eyes look in that sweater. But at the end of the day, they’re only interested in one thing …

Getting in your pants. Or purse. Or coat pocket … wherever it is that you happen to keep your purchasing power.

Devastating, I know. If you don’t believe me, try it your way. I’ll be ready with a shoulder to cry on next Saturday–after they defile your bank account. Then you can chalk it up to experience and move on. Or … you could just try learning from my mistakes this time. Whatever works for you. You know I’m always here for you, right?

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge, The Economy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

