Virtually Drowning

I don’t even want to tell you how many emails are awaiting me with little red flags next to them in my inbox right now. Or how many more red-flagged emails I receive on a daily basis. Or how many emails I receive only seconds before my phone rings with a client telling me they just sent me an email–and have I read it yet?

My inbox is not overflowing for lack of organization. I’ve got folders and sub-folders. Archives and archives within my archives. I used to play this game where I would not shut down my computer for the evening until my inbox was empty. So I could start each morning with a clean slate. That must have been before I had children.

At any rate, I’ve got a screen full of emails with minor little details that need to be addressed. Nothing significant. All of the big-ticket items are addressed on a daily basis. These are the little tasks that just slowly add up over time … post this document to a directory. Add this name to a spreadsheet. Sync this calendar with that calendar. Change the cover on the template. All of the little minutia that creeps up like a leaky faucet until it suddenly threatens to drown you when you are least expecting it.

So, my task for the rest of this week (while I am homebound with two sick children who have not left this house for THREE DAYS) is to minimize the little, seemingly insignificant tasks hanging over my head. So that while my clients go on vacation for the holidays, I can also step away from the computer and focus on the children who matter to me. And the family activities that make unforgettable memories.

You may not hear from me for a while …

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

