Green Living

This is not an environmental blog. I try to recycle. But God knows I’m not hanging my laundry out to dry, and sometimes one load stays in the washing machine so long that it has to be washed two more times in scalding HOT water just to kill the mildew smell. We’ve been over this already.

But, yesterday’s post about the family that minimized its waste entirely got me thinking about the impact my family of four is having on the environment. And as I started thinking about the macro-effects of our environmental impact, I also started down this path of the micro-effects that the chemicals and cleaning products are having on my family’s health and overall well-being.

That’s when I stumbled across the Green Guide on the National Geographic website. It’s an educational resource that helps you to understand how much water your washing machine consumes, and how much energy you can save by line-drying your clothes. (Which, as you can imagine … I am *totally* going to do … as soon as the snow melts.)

But what is more interesting to me are the recipes provided for making your own natural cleaning products so as not to pollute your house with toxic fumes. It’s true. Living Green could become a full-time job … hunting and gathering at the grocery store without using plastic bags or cardboard containers. Hanging your laundry out to dry. Harvesting your own garden and collecting your own chicken’s eggs. Mixing your own cleaning compounds.

I’m not trying to set myself up for failure or anything. Especially since I already have a full-time job. And a family. And more animals than I care to admit.

But then, I found this page on home decor. Suddenly, as if out of nowhere, I was inspired to replace our bedding with organic cotton and linen dye-free alternatives. And, you know how I love to burn candles. Well, what I had chalked up to an expensive luxury item a few months back now turns out to be an environmentally-sound, energy-saving solution.

So, here I am … browsing for new bedding and candles. Just trying to do my part to preserve the environment.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Green Living

  1. Pingback: 2010 wore out its Welcome | The Minimal Challenge

Leave a Reply

