It’s the Final Countdown

With only three days left in 2010, I’m not personally shedding any tears. Some years are better than others. I’m not going to say there were no highlights in 2010. Spending time with my family. Watching my children grow. Laughing together. All good times. But, if I had to summarize the year in broad, sweeping generalizations, I think it would be safe to say there were more lowlights in 2010 than highlights.

I’ll spare you my sob story. We’ll keep this discussion at the economic, political, and consumer levels. All I’m saying is … can we just kiss 2010 good-bye already? Because I, for one, am ready.

So, here is my question, as I count down with great anticipation …

Should I try to relax it out … spoiling myself with loungewear and long afternoon naps? Or, should I actively put an end to 2010 by using the next two and a half days to finish minimizing, sorting, and planning so that I can welcome 2011 with a clean slate?

I like to hit the ground running. But there’s a part of me that feels like I’ve been running a marathon all year. (Figuratively, of course. You know I’m not a runner, right?) So, there’s another part of me that would like to hibernate for the rest of the winter (or at least until it stops snowing) and not resurface again until the sun is shining brightly on my face and flowers are blossoming with spring (and hopefully a fully planted garden). Of course, a long weekend in Palm Springs might have the same effect. I’m just sayin’.

I wouldn’t mind minimizing a little stress in 2011, if at all possible. Who’s with me? (And, if you happen to have any proven tactics, feel free to share them with us.)

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s the Final Countdown

  1. I am so with you. 2010 wasn’t a very good year. It was hard. I’m glad its almost over. I have a couple boxes of things that I minimized but wasn’t 100% sure I should donate, so I kept them in the basement. I was kind of on the fence on decluttering some stuff. I’ve lived with them gone and can’t really remember what I removed! I really, REALLY, want to go through those boxes and get them out of my house. My goal is Sunday, even though it is the 2nd its close enough to the start of the new year for me. 4 boxes … I can do this! I vote for starting with a clean slate. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

