Thanks for the Support

Shoot. The only comment I received on my sad post yesterday–where I asked for your feedback on whether I should relax my way out of 2010 or clean the slate to ring in 2011–encouraged me to get off the couch and get ready for 2011. I was *so* hoping for the alternate option. I’m just going to go ahead and assume that none of you commented on that choice because you are too busy doing exactly that … relaxing your way through the week. You’re all with me in spirit, right?

Well, I took your advice to heart, dear reader, and decided to tackle my laundry room again. “Moving Mountains,” I like to call that task. And while I was at it, I decided to revisit the one shortcoming in this blog … the promise I keep making, and failing to fulfill …

Itemizing the content of my closet. I’ve been struggling with this task for months … not because I fear the challenge of living with fewer articles of clothing. I’m actually quite looking forward to that freedom. But because I want to donate every item in there and go shop for a new wardrobe in a completely different size. And when I do, I’ll strategically shop for classic lines and colors that can be easily mixed-and-matched, so as to turn a few articles into a dynamic collection. Thus, I am caught in this vicious cycle of trying to minimize the clothes to fit a body that has yet to be minimized, if you know what I mean …

But today, I decided it is time to do SOMETHING. So, I started by dusting off last year’s New Year’s Resolutions … workout, eat healthy, get in shape, run a marathon, blah, blah, blah. And, since you know how I love to recycle, I decided I could legitimately use the same resolution again this year. Reduce-Reuse-Recycle. My three favorite R’s (right after Riesling, Rum, and ‘Ritas, amiright?). I digress.

I’m back to focusing on my closet. Only, I’m not going to waste your time or mine itemizing articles of clothing that I don’t intend to keep around for long. Instead, I’m going to take baby steps toward my goals and start by eliminating anything that doesn’t fit in this armoire. Because, I have this empty armoire sitting in my bedroom that needs to be put to good use. I minimized everything in it, but can’t part with it just yet because it’s a matching set that goes so well with my bed frame. So, there it sits. Empty.

I figure … if I can fit my entire wardrobe in here, I’m doing OK. Besides … Darth Vader is doing nothing for my closet.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

