Unspeakable Tragedy

I think you know how I feel about politics. Let me rephrase that. I am passionate about politics. I am not impressed by many of today’s politicians.

So, to learn of the Tragedy in Tuscon this weekend was both horrific and demoralizing. As always, I am not here to point fingers. You can argue that this was a failure on the part of the mental healthcare system, or the local law enforcement. You can argue that the crosshairs on Sarah Palin’s website naming Gabrielle Giffords a Top Twenty Target was asking for consequences. Or, you can point out that even President Obama uses fight-like vocabulary in his calls-to-action while trying to motivate citizens. Believe what you want to believe. But regardless of what you believe, recognize the truth …

We have a very divided nation right now. And, we have two options. We can continue to grow more negative, angry, and divisive–hurling insults and refusing to acknowledge each others’ perspectives. Or, we can make an active choice to listen. To value the thoughts and opinions of fellow human beings. To work hard to meet in the middle. To find solutions that work for Americans. Because if we don’t, we are going to destroy ourselves. A nation divided cannot stand.

We are all multi-faceted human beings. There are no absolute truths. Just a million different perspectives.

I don’t know about you, but I elect politicians because they promise to make positive progress for my country. For my family. For my friends and neighbors. But, based on what I’ve seen in the last decade … I’m a bit confused about due process. About politicians working to improve communities. About lawmakers protecting our citizens. About budgets funding my children’s educations. About elected officials setting good examples, and being positive role models that people like Christina Taylor Green would aspire to resemble.

I know there are a ton of articles on the Web today about eliminating the violent rhetoric in political strategy. I agree with all of that. And I hope that our politicians will internalize that request of their citizens. We are, after all, their bosses, are we not?

But, I’d also like to encourage you with this post I discovered before the New Year … just a few ways we can change our country by changing ourselves. It’s a New Year: Help make this a better country. So, I’ll invite you to join me in my latest challenge … minimizing hatred and negativity in this world. In our hearts and in our minds. Because, as Gandhi so famously said … we must be the change we wish to see in this world.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unspeakable Tragedy

  1. Ana says:

    Girl…i love this post…because my feeling are exactly the same. When i heard about the shooting, my brain just couldn’t get past ‘where the hell is the security and, how does this happen???’

    Thank you for continuing to educate us on minimizing in the political world as well…keep it simple, start with ourselves. ANd Maybe just maybe, we can touch just one person. It is possible, i know..i’ve felt it myself.

Leave a Reply

