The Toys. Again.

My daughter has a playdate with a new friend scheduled for this week. Which means I can no longer go on pretending I haven’t just dumped Christmas in my kids’ room and shut the door. It’s time to actually sort through the mess, pack away the remnants of the holiday season, find a place for the new toys, and pass along everything that is lodged under their beds. This is a day that I’ve been looking forward to for several months now.

Here is what I enjoy:

  • Minimizing summer and fall clothes that are now too small and have been replaced by winter clothes that do fit.
  • Minimizing toys that have not seen the light of day since they were stored under the beds six months ago.
  • Minimizing the art projects that pile up in desk drawers and on all surfaces in that room.

Here is what I do *not* enjoy:

  • Kicking toys with my broken toeS on the way through their room. 
  • Asking my kids 12 times to pick up the same item, while they get distracted by all of the other “stuff” around them and fail to pick up the single item that needs a place to call home.
  • Requesting that my daughter put away her costume jewelery before I throw it away, only to have her respond “Throw it away. We’ll just buy more if I want it later.”
  • Finding a hiding place for their shorts and t-shirts until next summer because every time we are in a hurry to get out the door, they come downstairs dressed for August at the Equator.
  • Cats.
  • Trying not to break the delicate Star Wars LEGO constructions that my son worked so hard to build … even when he leaves them on the floor right in the middle of the walking path. 

Minimizing is a process. Lucky for you, it never ends …

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Toys. Again.

  1. OMG. My son totally said “throw it away, you’ll buy me more later” when he refused to pick up his toys and I threatened to throw them away when he was like 8-10 years old. I had a fit. I packed up every toy but left books and coloring books and stored them away in the garage for 6 weeks. It didn’t even phase him. Boy did he teach me a lesson.

    • That is exactly it. I am learning WAY more from this little social experiment than my children are. They are not attached to their “stuff” like adults sometimes are, but it doesn’t take them long to learn about our waste/consume behaviors!

Leave a Reply

