True Story

I cannot take credit for this find. My guru, Dave over at the 100 Thing Challenge posted this link on his Facebook page today. But I do want to share it with you as well … it’s just a bit of fascinating research by Ogilvy (another of my gurus … I am allowed to have more than one guru, yes? I confess. I don’t really know the rules about gurus, although I think I’ve started collecting them).

Anyhow, the report is called Eyes Wide Open–Wallet Half Shut: The Emerging Post-Recession Consumer Consciousness. I know. It sounds like something that would have been assigned in a college Economics class. And y’all know how I fell about that … So, I’ll do you a favor and highlight the key points for you here. (All quoted directly from the report.)

“Our research shows this new consumer consciousness is occurring for all Americans to some degree or another—regardless of age, gender, geography, education, or income…

Americans are looking at their world through a new lens. This post-recession consciousness has created a set of values and priorities with which to build a different reality. For many, the recession has brought newfound clarity and has helped to align choices with values …

For marketers this is going to mean consumers are going to look before they leap into purchase decisions with more research before they buy, more label reading, comparison shopping, talking to friends, etc …

When it comes to who’s at fault for this economic mess we’re in, the blame lands squarely on the government and the banks. Consumers, despite all the over-spending, over-extended mortgages, and debt, do not see themselves as to blame. However, our study shows that consumers do see themselves as the ones who will actually get us out of this mess …”

I’m just going to interject here for a moment to point out that while I believe this research is spot-on, I am shocked to learn that American consumers do not feel responsible for our behavior of over-consumption. But, the changes that are being noted in self-sustainability and local communities do resonate well with me.

”Along with an eroding trust in ‘other’ consumers and established institutions like banks, the government, and even the media, American consumers are reconnecting with what they can see and feel that is local and tangible—themselves, their family, and their community.

Self Reliance is the new insurance policy. Americans need to be strong, ‘get their house in order,’ and protect themselves …

Despite the economic stresses and disequilibrium brought on by the recession, Americans are feeling good about emerging with more responsible spending habits, better values, and a fresh perspective on life.”

The report goes on to describe how Americans have changed their purchasing behaviors while still splurging on quality items or a good cup of coffee now and again. (I have *no* idea what they’re talking about.) It also makes interesting points about the shifting perceptions of the American Dream and our ability to achieve the same level of “success” as generations before us.

All in all, I highly recommend reading the full report. But, if you’re anything like me, I think these “Cliff’s Notes” just covered it.

Ultimately, the point I am trying to make is this—we’re all in this together. Everyone is dealing with the economic crisis in their own ways, but everyone is dealing with it. It’s not just about minimizing material items. It’s about raising our collective conscience in a way that recognizes the power we have as consumers to change our lives. Our communities. Our country. By first changing ourselves. Our minds. Our behaviors.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge, The Country, The Economy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to True Story

  1. Pingback: The workplace is changing « travellearners

Leave a Reply

