Growth Spurts

When I picked my kids up from school today, my daughter was wearing a pair of rubber boots I didn’t recognize and my son wanted to walk sock-footed out to the car. I asked what was going on, and they complained that their shoes are pinching their toes.

So, I did a little investigating …

Turns out, I’ve been so focused on MINIMIZING that I’ve overlooked the fact that my children are still GROWING. Which really means OUT-growing. Although I’m tempted to buy them new clothes and shoes every time I go shopping, I’ve been practicing such self-restraint and avoiding shopping situations that I’ve completely neglected my kids’ wardrobes.

We went straight to the local shoe store to measure their feet. I’m not even going to tell you how many sizes they’d grown between the sizes they were wearing and the sizes they needed to be wearing. Let’s just say that I’m not winning any “Mother of the Year” awards. On the bright side, we were able to come home and clean out the shoe closet … by which I mean completely decimate it. My kids now each have one pair of shoes and one pair of boots. That’s all that fits for now.

Forced Minimization. I like that.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Growth Spurts

  1. Pingback: Happiness | The Minimal Challenge

Leave a Reply

