V-Day

Valentine’s Day is on Monday. And, while I feel it is my duty to point out that nobody really knows who Saint Valentine was–or why he was martyred–I’m pretty sure he was not flying around with feathery wings, shooting love-inducing arrows at people. Or showering them with candy and roses.

But I’m not here to rain on your parade. I am still a girl, after all. I’m not going to argue with anyone’s commercialized excuse to buy me roses. Or chocolate. Or wine. And, since I have a wonderful, loving husband, I’m sure I will receive each of those amazing surprises.

I’m not here to preach the “Commercialized Consumerism Holiday” tirade at you. You’ve heard that before.

Instead, I’ve been trying to think of something inspiring to say about giving away love on this national holiday. Free Love, if you will.

But then, I stumbled across this post on 16 Charitable Ways to Celebrate Valentine’s Day, on a blog called Philanthropy Writing. I haven’t fully explored this site yet … but I think I’m smitten. There’s even a link to a free webinar to inspire Mindfulness and Action.

Lately, as I’ve turned off the news and tuned in to all of the creative energy out here on the Web, I’m learning more and more about the incredible depth of the human race … the power of positive actions changing the world. I’m so excited to be a part of it. I’m pleased to have you join me. And I’m looking forward to growing with the emerging social movements of people doing the right things.

So, this Valentine’s Day, I want to encourage you to get outside of yourself. Stop worrying about your Secret Valentine and whether you will or won’t be showered with “stuff.” Instead, consider all of the ways you can *give* on this most sacred of sacred holidays

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

