Small Stuff

Alas, I must confess that I have yet to solve world hunger or cure cancer. And if you’ve been watching the news, you’ll know that there’s still no peace in the Middle East.

But, my kitchen is clean. My laundry is done. My desk is organized. My inbox is empty. And those small victories minimize my stress on a daily basis. They literally help me to sleep at night.

So now I can turn my attention to the bigger, more important tasks that life has to offer. Perhaps I can carve out an afternoon of free time once a week to volunteer at my kids’ school, since I’ve streamlined my home life > in turn allowing me to be more efficient and productive with my working hours > to enable me more flexible time in my days. That, my friends, is the best benefit I’ve received from this Minimal Challenge. The gift of time.

I’ve also found time to exercise. To go for long walks on the beach, or quick walks through the sideways rain here in the state that is always green. (I’m thinking we should have gone for “Rainforest State” but Evergreen is close enough, I suppose.)

And, with all of this extra time and energy, my brain is spinning a million miles a minute with new business ideas and charitable opportunities. It’s like magic. Or meth … or so I hear. (Listen, I’m not on drugs. But, I’m not going to say I didn’t watch those Oprah exposés a few years back on Moms who turned to meth so they could get 30 hours of work done in 20 waking hours and think–perhaps they’re on to something–while nursing an infant, playing with a toddler, sending emails, and cleaning the kitchen. I guess what I should have done was started minimizing a long time ago.)

I digress. The point here is that I was reminded yesterday by an insightful reader that this journey is not about reaching an ultimate destination. So what if I minimize my possessions down to 100 things? Then what? What am I learning along the way? And how is the journey of minimizing material “stuff” enabling me to focus on non-material people, events, and experiences that matter?

It’s not the act of arriving at the destination that matters, but the life-experience of trying to get there.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Small Stuff

  1. Susan says:

    I had the most wonderful, contented sigh when I finished this post. The increase in peace is coming right through your font.
    Have you ever seen the beautiful little piece “Fallen”? I found it very… nah, y’know what? You see in it for yourself what you will see.
    “A little meteor learns the biggest lesson of life on it’s way down to earth.”

Leave a Reply

