Staycation

Foiled. Again. For the third virtually-free-spontaneous-adventure-opportunity in a row, I find myself at home with sick children. First was the snow trip cancelled by weather and the sniffles. Then the New Year’s Eve crab hunt, cancelled by my son losing his lunch (and every other meal) all over me. And now, here we are, staring down a four-day President’s Day weekend and a last-minute invitation to join our friends at a lake cabin in the mountains for the meager cost of a few shared meals. My husband and I have been counting down the days to this mini-vacation since we were invited last Saturday.

Eagerly anticipating a four-day weekend and the opportunity to get out-of-town for a few days. Clear our minds. Breathe the pure mountain air. Run in the snow with our kids. Eat good food and laugh with our friends. Leave our computers behind and just relax for a few days. It helped that it was only a four-day work week. Anticipating the weekend is so much easier when there’s one less day in your way. So, we woke up on Sunday morning and made a list of what we had to do to get out-of-town this weekend. Finish up our loose ends on work projects. Check. Go to the grocery store to stock-up on peanut butter and jelly for the budget-conscious weekend. Check. Arrange for animal sitters. Check.

And, like clockwork, the Croup set in on Sunday night. With our daughter tossing and turning and hacking her way through the night. We kept her home from school on Monday to nip it in the bud and help her recover faster. By that night, she had a fever. So, we kept her home on Tuesday … willing her to take it easy and get better before the weekend. All week, I have been cautiously optimistic that she would recover. In full. Every time my husband calls to check in on her, I say “She’s doing better. Says she’s feeling great. Should be fine by the weekend.” So, we woke up this morning … ready to embark on our adventure … and … 101.6.

Determined to find joy in every experience, I refuse to let the hopes and dreams for a family adventure slip from my grasp again. So … I invite you to spend our Staycation with us. I’m not sure exactly what this weekend looks like, but I think it starts with a blanket fort turned pirate ship in the dining room. Followed by manicures and pedicures in our spa-like bathroom. Fed by our pre-made peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for lunch. With some Tommy Bahama “Backyard Paradise” playing in the background. Maybe some Play-Doh arts and crafts. And, to top off the evening, a gourmet meal prepared by our very own in-home chef. (That’s me.)

Let the fun begin.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Staycation

  1. Susan says:

    Pirate Ship Blanket Fort!?!?!?!
    I’m in! What time’s good for you? 😉
    Seriously, prayers for your littlest one from Miss S. and wishing you a joyful and laughter-filled Staycation. I’m sure if anyone can turn staying home into a fantastic trip to faraway mindscapes, it’s you and your husband.

  2. Pingback: GDP = Consumer Spending? | The Minimal Challenge

  3. Pingback: Anti-Staycation « travellearners

  4. Pingback: Mother’s Intuition | The Minimal Challenge

Leave a Reply

