Day 4–Enough of the Staycation

If this were an actual vacation, I would have packed up my family and headed home yesterday. All tapped out.

Because, while I like to imagine that I’m sleeping in the cozy down bedding of a five-star luxury resort with turn-down service and a chocolate on my pillow, I’m actually sleeping in my daughter’s bed with her so I can monitor her fever through the night. Here’s how I know when there’s cause for concern … when I get kicked in the ear by a little 103.6 degree foot at 2:00 am.

I don’t care who you are … that does not make for a restful or relaxing sleep. Even if you’re dreaming that you’re on an actual vacation and not a stuck-at-home-with-no-hope-of-even-making-it-to-the-grocery-store-with-sick-kids-Staycation.

Minimizing Sleep. That’s what this Staycation has turned in to … when I’m not being kicked out of bed by my sick child, my husband is anxiously surfing the internet trying to figure out why her fever is getting worse rather than better. And when he wakes in the night, it’s a good three hours before he can get back to sleep.

Two sleep deprived parents + Two sick kids = Time to pack it in.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 4–Enough of the Staycation

  1. Lisa says:

    Hang in there my friend. My heart aches for your family. It has been way too nice outside to be stuck inside. May the healing come quickly!

  2. Pingback: Anti-Staycation « travellearners

Leave a Reply

