Marathon Month

To call my month thus far a “marathon” would be … well, quite frankly, using a metaphor to which I cannot relate. But the fact that I associate “pure exhaustion” with the very concept of a “marathon” makes it work for me.

I’ll be perfectly honest with you … I haven’t had a whole lot of time to ponder my minimalist lifestyle. Or to sort through any more junk. However, I have spent a number of nights sleeping away from home this month, and on every occasion, I’ve taken nothing but a single change of clothes and one small backpack–not even stuffed full. This new packing the only clean clothes I now own approach has saved me hours of time and stressful headaches. That’s nice.

I’ve also had some time to reflect on the minimal number of posts I’ve written this month. Since I started this blog, I’ve really loved the creative outlet it’s provided to allow me to express myself throughout the day. However, at times, it’s almost turned into an addiction. I feel like I “need” to write before I shut down my laptop for the day. Not so this month. This month, I’ve found a peace in writing what I can when I can and accepting the fact that if this blog is a true reflection of my life and my journey toward minimalism then … it will have to accept the fact that I can only give so much of my wakefulness on a daily basis.

Which brings me to the actual thoughts I’ve been pondering. After I ended my post the other day with “Perhaps I should start by minimizing some of the expectations I have of myself,” I received all kinds of positive feedback. (Thank you, friends.) The net-net of which is this … we all have unrealistic expectations of ourselves … whether that be a challenge to change our perceptions of American-style consumerism cold-turkey, the whimsical desire to blog every day, or more difficult expectations to be the perfect [mother/wife/business owner/fill-in-the-blank], the truth is that we are often sacrificing our own well-being … our physical health, our mental stability, or our emotional balance to strive to be something unattainable. When really, the whole goal of the Minimal Challenge is to reduce the chaos in our lives … to clear a space to breathe. And relax. And fill a day with nothingness. Rather than trying to become chicken farmers and grow herbs from scratch. I mean, really?

So today, I want to challenge you to minimize your expectations. Nobody is perfect. Quit trying to attain the unattainable.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marathon Month

  1. Susan says:

    “So today, I want to challenge you to minimize your expectations.”

    Those words had a very powerful impact on me. I think you may have knocked something loose for me. Thank you.

    • I had a similar “a-ha” moment when my son was 18 months old and in a very hands-on preschool. We had a parent night where we were sharing some of the challenges of parenting toddlers, and one of the mothers asked how to change some type of typical-preschooler behavior. Another mother answered with a kind-hearted “maybe you should adjust your expectations of your two-year old.” I believe that single statement has made me a better mother. But just now … four years later, am I finally realizing that I could apply the same concept to myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

