The Full-Time Family. What’s that?

As you can imagine, I am now fully immersed in research for our Road-Schooling-Free-Wheeling-Country-Crossing adventure. I’m reading blogs, finding curriculum, and imagining life on the open road. It’s a little crazy to think of the freedom. (And the cramped quarters, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, and rest-stop toilets.)

But once I get beyond that, the thought of camping on the coast and falling asleep to the rhythmic lullaby of the crashing waves, or riding our bikes through the red desert sands, or hiking the Appalachian Trail as the fall leaves change color in search of fresh maple syrup … those sound like the experiences of a lifetime to me.

So, I’m enthralled by the sites and insights I’m finding out here on the Internet. One logo that captured my attention is the “Full-Time Family” organization.

At first, I thought–that’s cute. Then I thought–wait a minute … isn’t every family a Full-Time Family? Then, as I thought about it a little longer, I realized that when kids are in school for six hours a day, and parents are working 8-12 hours a day, and social and family commitments consume weekends, “family time” becomes a scarce commodity. Nothing like going on a family road trip to force some family bonding, I guess. And since every mother knows that it’s not a question of “if” but “when” she’ll screw up her children some how, this seems like as good an opportunity as any.

I’m not proposing that we become a bunch of smelly hippies living out of our car for the rest of our lives. (Because I’m a firm believer that there is no full-service day spa that does not also have a shower.) But I am proposing that we leave behind the material demands of consumerist America and go live these lives we’ve been given.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Full-Time Family. What’s that?

  1. Kimberly says:

    You TOTALLY GOT IT!!! When you are on the road with your kiddos – you are absolutely a Full – Time Family! There aren’t babysitters, moms- drop – offs, dad away at the office – its you – your family unit – all the time. Sounds daunting but we love it!
    and your other ‘revelation’… just weeks ago I told my husband… “that’s it – its over! We’ve either done THE BEST or THE WORST thing for our kids- nothing more to worry about!” Looking forward to seeing you down the road! Kimberly

    • Hi Kimberly! Thank you for reading. I am so eager to learn more about your adventure as we prepare for ours. I’m just getting my blog set up for that adventure, and will be sure to circle back with you. I’m sure you’ve just done THE BEST thing for your kids. How long were you on the road?

  2. Megan says:

    I totally just discovered your blog tonight and I’m reading through random posts, but I love this! I thought I’d share a little bit of wisdom learned through years of band trips – because there’s no way to ensure 40 high schoolers actually take showers, we always scheduled an hour or two at the Y. Nothing scorches off sweat and bus grime like an over-chlorinated swimming pool.

Leave a Reply

