Royal Moments

I’m not sure if you can see what is happening in this picture, but if you look closely, you’ll see my son’s gorilla scaling the wall of my daughter’s princess castle. I can’t tell you exactly what transpired here–as I walked in after-the-fact–but I’m pretty sure whatever it was included a healthy dose of imagination and my children playing together. I had to smile as I was helping them clean their room yesterday to turn around and find this fairy tale playing out behind me.

And then, the sight of her princess castle sparked my recollection of a very Big Deal happening this week. I’ll be perfectly honest and tell you that I have not actually been following the events leading up to the Royal Wedding. Gasp. I know. And to think that I call myself English. I should really be ashamed of myself. In fact, it wasn’t until Monday that somebody mentioned that the wedding is taking place this Friday. Who knew?

The whole world. Apparently is the answer to that question. It turns out that I actually know a woman who has flown to London to participate in the extravaganza. Really?

I mean … they’re just regular people, right? And if you don’t even know them then it’s kind of creepy to crash their wedding, isn’t it? Well, maybe I’m a little bit cynical because I think the concept of “celebrity” is a crazy phenomenon that generates a ridiculous amount of revenue for the entertainment industry. I could tangent into how I think its absurd that we’ve developed a complete industry around entertaining ourselves when there are entire countries full of STARVING PEOPLE. But, I won’t go there.

I am actually quite impressed with the Royals’ commitment to charity and the late Princess Diana’s humanitarian efforts. So, I do not actually take issue with these celebrities. On the flip side, I think … leave the people alone. Just let them get married, have some privacy, and live happily ever after. Peacefully.

But, then a friend posted something on Facebook the other day that got me thinking … she said “I know many people think the Royal Wedding is ridiculous, but I think having a bit of fairy tale in our world these days can be healthy.”

And if you think about it … a real live Prince and Princess are getting married on Friday. I mean, that’s the stuff that little girls’ dreams are made of, right? I guess minimizing preconceived notions is a worthy endeavor in a case like this.

So, I called my kids into my office and found some clips online of the wedding preparations. The horse-drawn carriage. The beautiful castle. The Prince and Princess themselves. My daughter could hardly believe her eyes … a real-life princess? For real? And my son thought those horses were the Big Deal. I guess it’s kind of fun to get caught up in the moment.

I mean … nobody in this house will be waking at 1:00 am to watch the ceremony live. Unless a gorilla scales the side of our house holds us captive in front of the TV. You never know what might happen around here.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Royal Moments

  1. SherryGreens says:

    We have that exact same castle! We recorded the wedding and I watched it with the kids the next day. My daughter was transfixed – you mean there are real princesses? She immediately wanted to dress up afterward. I kept thinking about Kate the next day, one day you are a normal person, the next you are a princess. How weird. It must be surreal for her – how many people watched around the world, what a big deal it was. People just like getting caught up in the fairy tale I guess!

    • I thought the exact same thing … she stepped out of that car a “commoner” in her beautiful dress, and emerged from the Abbey a Princess. One of the commentators said this is the first time in history that an heir to the throne has chosen his own mate–rather than participated in an arranged marriage. Maybe they do actually have a shot at living Happily Ever After …

Leave a Reply

