Holistic Wellness

Okay, okay. I know I’ve done more than my fair share of complaining about the weather lately. And, I also know that I promised to stop. So, here is my peace-offering to the Pacific Northwest weather gods …

Even if I didn’t live here, I would still visit …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

… probably often.

Today, I was blessed with an afternoon at the spa. And not just any spa. But the spa that I fell in love with as a young, single woman with a paycheck and no responsibilities … the spa that I could walk to on my lunch break and indulge in a quick massage before returning to my ergonomic work station and continuing with my work. The same spa where my boss sent me for a pregnancy massage the day before my son’s due date–which turned out to be two full weeks before he actually arrived. The spa where I used to treat my own mother to massages on a regular basis in exchange for the generous amounts of time she spent helping me care for my infant son while I worked from home. Hunched over a non-ergonomic laptop while nursing a child, listening in to a conference call, and drafting emails at the same time.

Somewhere along the way, as our family grew and our budgetary requirements demanded more of our dual incomes, massages fell off of our list of necessities. Or even indulgences, if I’m being honest. I can’t believe that I don’t even remember the last time I enjoyed such peaceful, relaxing, rejuvenating body work. Apparently, my massage therapist couldn’t believe it either. “Do your hands ever go numb?” she asked while she tried to release the tension in my neck and shoulders. “No?” I replied quizzically. “Oh,” she giggled. “That’s good, I guess.” It seems that my muscles are so tense they should be causing nerve damage.

So, as I laid there on the table, being kneaded back into shape, I realized something profound. Here, as I’m charging toward my May goal of maximizing energy while minimizing laziness, I need to take a more holistic approach to well-being. Exercise, yes. But massage also. Yes?

Who’s with me?

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

