Something nice to say …

My Momma always taught me that if I didn’t have something nice to say, I shouldn’t say anything at all. And, since you know I’ve been minimizing laziness this month by exercising … well … I’ve been necessarily silent.

But then yesterday, I had this epiphany. I realized that I’ve been chalking up my creaky bones and aching muscles to aging. And cursing the years that have slipped me by since my high school PE teacher told me I was in the best shape of my life. But, as my knee was sending shooting pains through my leg, and my back was screaming out in agony, it occurred to me that perhaps my bones are out of alignment. So, I called the chiropractor to schedule an appointment. His receptionist said he was out of the office for the day, but then he interrupted her and said that if I could get there right away, he would fit me in. Seven minutes later, I was standing there in his office while he looked over my chart. Turns out I haven’t been in for an adjustment since 2007.

Really? I mean … I knew it had been a few months, but I could swear it was just last summer. At least. Nope … a few summers ago, it turns out. So, I explain how I’m trying to get in shape after hibernating post-children, and am looking for holistic and well-balanced health solutions. He educates me on the value of chiropractic care, which I always think is ironic since I’m already standing there for a reason. And …

Snap, crackle, pop. We’re all done here. As I walked out to my car, I realize I’m not limping, and my hip doesn’t hurt. And my knee isn’t threatening to give out as I cross the parking lot. Miraculous, I think. The chiropractor might possibly be better than the massage therapist. Might, I said.

He also had a few other positive comments … specifically that I “shouldn’t try running … that might be too much for my little body. Try mountain biking or swimming instead.” (Emphasis mine, not his.)

I’m sorry … did someone just tell me I should not try running? Ding-ding-ding. I think I just found my new medical practitioner … this smart guy who makes my body feel better and doesn’t suggest archaic torture regimens to get me back into shape.

That’s the best news I’ve had all month.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

