We live in a Destination Location, after all …

We decided to enjoy the holiday weekend here in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. Because, we’ve come to believe that this is, in fact, the most beautiful place on earth. For 58 days a year. Gambling on the chance that we might see one of those days this weekend, we stayed put.

So, our weekend consisted of roasting marshmallows around the campfire with friends, a 50th birthday party for a dear friend, family golf day, enjoying a BBQ at the swimming pool, and generally lounging around. Island style. I’m not going to say that I was overly excited about another Staycation, but I will say that I welcomed the chance to relax with open arms. And playing tourist in your own home town is sometimes a nice change of pace.

In fact, one morning, we even meandered around the island stopping by Yard Sales to see if anyone else’s trash might become our treasure. I can’t say we found much of anything worth mentioning. Except for the rock a man was trying to sell for $15. Fifteen dollars for a rock. Even the ten-year old in our group had to ask “what’s so special about this rock?”

“Well,” the salesman replied, “we think that might be the kind of rock the Indians used to grind their corn.” Come again? Think and might aren’t selling me here, buddy. Because I’m pretty sure there is a whole field of rocks outside this barn that might have been used as implements by our predecessors on this here land. And so, I’ll pose the question another way … Are you kidding me? Fifteen dollars for a rock? I think it is worth mentioning that this rock was truly nothing special.

That’s when I realized that this was not just any yard sale … this was a high-priced tourist trap just waiting for island visitors to wander through its doors. Thinking they wandered into a treasure trove of historical artifacts up here in the Islands.

Look. I’m not here to tell you how to spend your money. But I am going to remind you that we’re still climbing out of the worst recession in recent history. So if you want to spend fifteen dollars on a rock that someone thinks might have been a tool for grinding corn … email me. I’ve got a whole forest full of rocks out back.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

