The glass has water in it.

I don’t want to be a glass-is-half-empty kind of gal who points out that I can now count approximately 5 sunny days this year, leaving us with a mere 53 glorious days to look forward to …

But I don’t want to be a glass-is-half-full kind of girl looking forward to summer vacation when I just learned that the housing market is in a confirmed double-dip recession (so much for my plans to sell my house … complete with water features). I also don’t want to point out that my unemployed friends and neighbors are STILL unemployed. Or, that my local school districts are continuing to reorganize staff, cut hours, and reduce pay. I also don’t want to call attention to the fact that some of the best teachers I know are being forced to choose between working hours so meager they cannot afford to support themselves, or finding a new career at an age when … well, most of us don’t want to consider finding a new career.

I don’t want to turn this into a political debate, because I think that the issues our country is facing right now are greater than partisan politics can address.  I think it is fair to say that our economy is a mess. The housing market is miserable–especially if you’re trying to sell a house. Employment rates in both the private and public sectors are struggling. Our educational system is suffering. And, we’re not even going to address healthcare here.

But, there is one thing that I know for sure. Sitting around whining about it isn’t going to solve any problems. Yes, our financial outlook is grim at the moment. But this has sparked an introspection on my part that I would like to share with you …

When the institutions and systems are broken at a macro-level–the government, corporations, banking and financial industries, and educational systems, to name a few–there are some issues that are simply beyond our control. If I had the time to be a political activist, I’m sure I would. But, I don’t. So, while I do believe my vote counts, and the power to change the world belongs to the people, and HELL NO, WE WON’T GO … rah-rah-rah … I also believe that we, as a generation, we have a unique opportunity to redefine the American Dream. We have a chance to share our core values with our children. To help them understand that “stuff” and “things” are temporary. That relationships count. That community service is the most rewarding use of time. That helping others is the best way to help ourselves. That happiness is not found in this world, but deep within ourselves.

So, regardless of your political, religious, physical, emotional, mental, or socio-economic positions … decide to effect change. The glass has water in it. I don’t so much care whether you think it is half-full or half-empty. I care whether you know what you are going to do with that water. What is your personal plan? Because at the end of the day … only you can decide how you are going to navigate this mess.

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Country, The Economy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The glass has water in it.

  1. SherryGreens says:

    Maybe we are at the end of limitless growth in our economies. Maybe consumer spending on stuff is unsustainable. Debt fueled spending is not sustainable! Maybe our planet has a limit to how much resources it can give up. Maybe we need a whole new economic model.

    Maybe we should all work less, less HOURS, and spend more time with our families instead. If we cut the work week to 30 hours per week, then we would create one new job for every 3 people. We don’t need all this money anyway to buy more and more stuff, drive our cars, live in bigger houses. We really don’t need it all. Less hours = less money = less stuff = more time = more happiness. Am I out to lunch here?

    Just dreamin’ I guess. But I do think a fundamental shift is underway, and we need to adapt.

    • LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this feedback! You just helped me give words to a thought/concept that has been kicking around in my mind for a while now … do you mind if I quote you in an upcoming post? I’m formulating my thoughts now. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

