Kindergarten 101

“Waaaaaaaaaaaaah”

“He’s not playing fair.”

“She’s being mean.”

“I’m telling.”

In case you’re wondering if this is how our summer break is going, I’m proud to say–no, it is not. That’s because my four- and six-year old children know how to communicate and settle their differences. They can right their wrongs and make peace without much parental supervision at all.

Rather, this is my take on what is happening between our “leaders” in Washington D.C. right now. Those who are childishly playing politics with our country’s financial stability. As you know, this blog is a political-free zone. So I’m not going to tell you which way I’m leaning. I’m just going to tell you that adults who have been voted into positions of power by their citizens should act like grown-ups and get their jobs done. They are, after all, professional negotiators. We are literally paying them money to come to reasonable terms and uphold the best interests of the American people.

I don’t have the statistics handy, but I’m pretty sure a large percentage of divorces are caused by financial difficulties. How about if we call this one on “irreconcilable differences,” fire all of the politicians, and hold a new election to put people in office who can work together like adults. Because, whether they like it or  not, the job requires team work. And nobody passes without contributing. But if one person fails, they all fail.

I really don’t want to resort to the “Everything I need to know, I learned in Kindergarten” poster … but … must I?

About Not-so-SuperMomma

See my previous blog at www.theminimalchallenge.wordpress.com to learn about how I used to be a SuperMom ...
This entry was posted in The Country, The Economy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kindergarten 101

  1. Ngaio says:

    “childishly playing politics with our country’s financial stability.” Not our, but the World’s. All the World’s economies are controlled by the US. It is extremely crazy and unfair but that is how this capitalist driven world works. Here in my home, New Zealand, we are about to have another economic crisis because the US dollar is so low that our export based market can’t cope.
    It is absolutely insane how much power these few childish people have and how many people their decisions have.

    • I could not agree with you more. Thank you for sharing a broader world view here. As citizens, we need to make our voices heard so that our governing “leaders” can respond with responsible choices that impact the entire world. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

